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Mastering ROI: 11 Tips For Measuring Content Marketing and Thought Leadership

Mastering ROI: 11 Tips For Measuring Content Marketing and Thought Leadership

You’ve invested in content marketing and thought leadership campaigns in hopes that they will help to grow your business. But, how do you know if they are truly worth the money you put in?

Too often, it can seem difficult to figure out if you should keep funding a particular type of marketing strategy or if that money would be better spent elsewhere.

When you invest in digital marketing, you want proof that you aren’t wasting money. Fortunately, measuring ROI is one way to verify that you’re getting tangible results from your content marketing campaigns.

And, the best part? Figuring out each campaign’s ROI is free and easy to calculate.

What Is Content Marketing ROI?

ROI stands for Return on Investment. Plainly, it is a way of measuring if something was worth the money or was profitable. In content marketing, ROI refers to the amount of money spent on a campaign compared to the results.

Importance of Measuring ROI

Measuring ROI is extremely important for understanding the success of digital marketing. Not all campaigns have the same goals. For example, publishing a thought leadership post on your company’s blog may not increase sales directly. Instead, it might make your company appear more credible or show up more frequently in search results. These results are still valuable.

Types of ROI Metrics for Digital Marketing

There are dozens of ROI metrics that you can monitor for each content marketing piece you deploy. Some metrics may provide valuable data for all types of marketing campaigns, whereas others may only apply to a specific type of marketing, such as email marketing or social media ads. Here are 11 ROI metrics for digital marketing worth measuring:

  • Conversion Rate: The conversion rate is the number of website visitors that complete the desired action over the total number of visitors. For instance, the number of visitors that subscribe to your newsletter over the number of people who saw your website’s request to subscribe. As a sales funnel, this is the number of leads that go to the next sales stage.
  • Conversion Rates by Channel: This compares your conversion rates by different acquisition channels, such as email, social media, and organic search. It can highlight if certain channels have higher conversion rates than others. For instance, if social media has a much higher conversion rate than email campaigns, you can choose to either put more effort into improving your email campaigns or divert that spending to social media campaigns.
  • Conversion Rates by Device: Like conversion rates by channel, the conversion rates by device compares different ways that people access your content. This includes mobile devices, tablets, and computer browsers. Using this information, you can optimize your content for the device most people use to access your site.
  • Cost Per Lead: This metric involves dividing the total cost of the campaign by the number of leads generated. If you pay $1,000 to promote a post on social media, and you receive 10 leads, your cost per lead is $100.
  • Click-Through Rates: This is the percentage of visitors or email subscribers that “click” on the hyperlink on your website page or email. A small click-through rate can be indicative that your Call to Action (CTA) directing them to open a link in your marketing email isn’t working.
  • Unique Monthly Visitors: This number is how many different people visit your website within the span of a month. With good content marketing, this number should continue to go higher.
  • Lead Close Rate: This measures how many sales you made based on the number of leads you had. For instance, if 100 people requested more information about your services, how many of those individuals ended up paying for services?
  • Cost Per Acquisition: This is the amount of money that you had to spend to acquire a single paying customer through the campaign. You can figure this out by dividing the costs you spent getting new customers by the number of customers acquired.
  • Average Order Value: This is the average amount of money that a customer spent in a single order with your company. Seeing an increase in order size could be a strong indicator of strong content marketing campaigns.
  • Customer Lifetime Value: This metric demonstrates the amount a customer is worth over the entire relationship with your company. How much did a single customer spend with your company in total?
  • Return on Ad Spend: This very important calculation is the total revenue per channel or campaign divided by the total amount you spent on that particular channel or campaign. This can be for a certain amount of time or for your company’s lifetime total. For instance, if your company spends $500 in April on Facebook ads and generates $2,000 in sales from Facebook ads in April, your return on ad spend is $4 to $1. For every dollar you spent, you generated $4 in revenue. You don’t want to waste money by supporting channels that don’t give you a return.

Benefits of Closely Monitoring Campaign ROI

There are many different benefits of monitoring ROI in content marketing and thought leadership campaigns. Any company that invests time and resources into marketing efforts should know how the investment is working. Here are some benefits of monitoring ROI.

More Sales

Finding out which campaigns perform the best can lead to more sales, as you can continue to invest in only the most successful campaigns. When you can see which strategies, calls to action, and topics work, you can implement successful strategies in more of your campaigns.

Feedback on Campaign Performance

Measuring ROI can give you an idea of how a marketing campaign performs. Without it, you may never really know if the money you invest in content marketing delivers results.

Ability to Change, Tweak, or Discontinue Less Successful Campaigns

When you monitor campaign performance in real time, you are able to make changes to a campaign while it’s still active. This means that you can tweak or improve aspects of the blog post, email, or paid ad to correct its performance before everyone reads it or you’ve spent all of your allocated marketing dollars.

For instance, if a blog post continues to get comments that ask the same question, it can make sense to revise the blog to answer the question proactively. If you pay for paid social advertising, you can quickly discontinue poorly performing campaigns before you invest more money.

Save Money

When you closely monitor each campaign’s ROI, you can save money by only investing in the most successful campaigns. You can learn from the performance of past campaigns and choose to invest in creating the most effective future campaigns using the knowledge you learned.

Other Ways to Measure Content Marketing Success

Aside from traditional measures of ROI, there are other ways to measure the success of content marketing and thought leadership campaigns. These include:

  • Number of Social Media Followers: Did you see a spike in social media followers after posting something new? Many people will choose to follow brands that put out content that they want to read.
  • Number of Email Subscribers: An increase in email subscribers can be attributed to publishing high-quality email content, as current subscribers can easily forward an email to others in their network to share engaging information.
  • Engagement: You can measure engagement in a number of ways, including whether your social media content receives a larger number of comments or likes.
  • Number of Purchases: An increase in the number of purchases, even of products not featured in your content marketing campaign, can be a sign that your marketing efforts are working. New customers can find out about your company for the first time as a result of a thought leadership campaign and choose to buy products other than those featured in the post.
  • Number of Downloads: The number of downloads of a lead magnet, software trial, or demo can be a sign of an effective campaign.
  • Increase in Leads: Have people filled out a contact form or downloaded a lead magnet in exchange for their email address as a result of your campaign?

Online Tools

You can utilize many different online tools to see how your campaigns perform. Social media sites already provide you with free ways to see how every post performs. Email marketing platforms, such as MailChimp, can show you how many people opened and clicked on links in an email. You can monitor your website’s Alexa Ranking or Google Analytics dashboard to see how campaigns impact your website’s traffic volume.

Other Stats to Track

Monitoring both the long-term impact of content marketing on your business and how individual campaigns perform can provide you valuable insight. The truth is that most leads require several interactions with your business before they decide to make a purchase. Here are some other statistics worth tracking to ensure that you create content that makes a difference in your business.

  • Year Over Year Performance Comparisons: Is your business doing better this quarter than this time last year? While there might be some seasonal fluctuations or uncontrollable events that impact your business, you ideally want to see growth each year during the same time periods.
  • Profit Margin: The most expensive part of sales is customer acquisition. As you sell more products to existing customers, your profit margins should increase. Higher profit margins could be a sign that you’re able to make more money with less marketing spend.
  • Long Term Growth: By investing in thought leadership campaigns, you invest in your brand. While you may not see immediate results from a single campaign, continuing to grow your company’s content marketing efforts should lead to long-term growth, brand recognition, and assets.
  • Cost of Creating Campaign: How much does it cost your team to create a content marketing or thought leadership campaign? While you may not recoup your expenses directly, knowing how much it costs, on average, to create a new campaign can give you an idea of how much you’ve invested.
  • Time to Create a Campaign: How long does it take your team to create a campaign? If your team must divert a lot of time away from existing or revenue-generating tasks to create content marketing campaigns, it might be worthwhile and more efficient to have a content marketing company take care of it for you.

Measuring ROI for content marketing and thought leadership can give you an idea of the effectiveness of your campaigns and whether it makes sense to continue investing in this type of marketing. Keep in mind that a content marketing campaign can sometimes be just one part of growing your business. By using a combination of different strategies, you can increase your chances of reaching your ideal customer.

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Flori Meeks - Copywriter

Flori, who has more than 25 years of writing experience, began her career in suburban Detroit as a community newspaper reporter. She has worked as a neighborhood news editor for the Houston Chronicle and as a copywriter for Powell Public Relations. During more than 10 years as a freelance writer, her projects included newspaper and magazine articles, press releases, brochure and website copy, Request for Proposal (RFP) responses, and grant applications. Her clients have included Galveston Monthly magazine, Weddings in Houston magazine, Judy Nichols & Associates (public relations) and NCIC Phone Services, along with nonprofit organizations, Lifeway International and Newspring. Since joining The Writers For Hire, Flori has assisted with social media campaigns and written blog posts, articles, press releases, brochures, and web copy.

Flori has a bachelor’s degree in journalism from Oakland University.

Jessica Stautberg - Lead Copywriter

Jessica joined The Writers for Hire after several years of technical writing for two Department of Defense contractors, where she created software documentation and online help, as well as material for the company websites and newsletters. Since joining The Writers for Hire, Jessica has become the company’s resident “Wiki guru,” and manages most of the Wikipedia projects. She also manages social media campaigns for several local businesses, provides copy and layout options for website projects, writes blog posts on topics that include the oil and gas industry, web hosting, and fashion, and writes articles, brochures, books, and press releases. Jessica has a Master’s in Technical Communication from Texas State, where she also edited and proofread articles for Center of the Study of the Southwest’s academic journals while working as a ghostwriter for Infobooks.com. She has a Bachelor of Arts degree in English from Southwestern University.

Jennifer Rizzo - Copywriter / Genealogist

Jennifer, also known as "Rizzo," is a Denver-based writer and genealogist with a passion for history, travel, and languages. She studied Spanish at the University of Guadalajara in Guadalajara, Mexico and also lived and studied in Ancona, Italy. She also holds a certification for International Tour Management through the International Guide Academy, as well as a Genealogy certification from IAP Career College. Since joining The Writers For Hire, Jennifer has tackled a vast array of projects—from RPFs and SOPs to memoirs and company history books— and has done many in-depth genealogical research and family tree projects. She has also worked as Project Manager for various client projects, including family history books, websites, RFPs, blogs, autobiographies, and SOPs. Jennifer is our resident historian and genealogist, and can often be found examining 200-year-old books in various archive sites around the globe. She enjoys working closely with clients, and loves any opportunity that allows her to indulge her creative side.

Peter Albrecht - Copywriter

After putting in enough time as a busboy, a cheesesteak artist, a medical courier, and a nightclub bouncer, Peter took the logical next step—securing a position at a bicycle shop. While serving as a mechanic and a salesman, his incriminating degree in creative writing from the University of Arizona got him assigned to every additional duty that had anything to do with words. Between all the wrenching and selling, Peter wrote website copy, emails, blogs, digital and print ads, press releases, articles, advertorials, and scripts for radio and television commercials. What started as a summer job evolved into an 18-year career in the cycling industry, gaining him experience in corporate communications, public relations, social media management, event planning, marketing, and retail advertising. Since joining The Writers for Hire, Peter has branched into ghostwriting, op-eds, RFPs, SOPs, and producing work for aerospace and engineering firms, public utilities, oil and gas companies, real estate developers, and the entertainment industry. At his home base in New Jersey, Peter spends his free time souping up cheap vintage guitars, admiring his dog, and talking about moving to the Adirondacks.

Arielle Emmett - Copywriter

Arielle Emmett joined The Writers for Hire after a 30-year career in science, technology, and international journalism education. Early in her career, during the Watergate era, Arielle was selected as a journalism intern for The New York Times columnist William Safire, and she was a correspondent for Newsweek. She has worked as an editor for Science Digest, as a reporter and features staff writer for the Detroit Free Press, and as a columnist for The Philadelphia Inquirer and The American Journalism Review. She also has held senior editor and editor-in-chief positions at leading technical magazines and was a 10-year contributing editor at The Scientist. Arielle’s work has been published in Parents, Ms., OMNI, and Toronto Globe & Mail, among other publications. In 2011 she completed her doctoral dissertation in visual media and iconic photography at the University of Maryland. Since then, Arielle has taught science communications and online journalism at Temple and Drexel Universities, International College Beijing, and University of Hong Kong.

Erin Larson - Copywriter

With a Bachelor of Science in Language Arts from Georgetown University and 20 years of editorial experience, Erin brings a passion for words and well-crafted writing to every project. As a writer, she revels in the opportunity to create vibrant original copy and rejuvenate tired text. She has written on a range of topics, in a variety of styles, and for an array of platforms. As an editor, proofreader, translator, and trusted second set of eyes, she has helped clients from around the world enhance their writing. A self-proclaimed editorial perfectionist, Erin once canceled a credit card because of a grammatically incorrect form letter, which she edited and promptly sent back to the company. (Incidentally, she wasn’t surprised to receive no response.)

Devin Lawrence - Copywriter

Devin is a writer from Richmond, Virginia. He’s been an avid fan of fiction literature ever since he was young, and spent most of his adolescence pouring over one book series after another. Some of his favorites from back in the day include Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Ender’s Game, Ender’s Shadow, and The Edge Chronicles. He began pursuing creative writing when he was twelve, hoping to someday emulate his favorite authors. He has since spent more than ten years continuing to hone and expand the skills of his craft, graduating from Old Dominion University with a degree in Professional Writing in 2022. He has written on topics ranging from technology trends, to criminal justice, homeland security, self-defense, hiking and camping, workplace operational analysis, the challenges of eldercare, and data privacy. Creative by nature, Devin also dabbles as a graphic designer with particular interest in infographics and flowcharts.

Chris DeLange - Copywriter

Chris is a London-based writer with a strong background in HR/Learning & Development. He has held senior positions at large corporations in London as both Talent Development Business Partner and Head of Learning and Development. Chris graduated top of his class when he completed his MSc in Industrial Psychology at the University of Leicester in England. He also holds a TEFL/TESOL qualification in teaching English as a Second Language from Global Language Training. Chris is a big foody and is always exploring new dishes and creating new recipes. He became a qualified Chef in 2012 when he studied Culinary Arts at the International Centre For Culinary Arts in Dubai. He is very passionate about writing and is working on multiple team projects. Chris joined The Writers For Hire in 2022 and is settling in very well.

Morgan Pinales - Copywriter

Morgan has worked in marketing and communications for more than eight years, with a primary focus on copywriting and content creation. Throughout her years of experience, she has written and edited almost every kind of copy imaginable – magazine articles, blog posts, website copy, brochures, press releases, nonfiction books, newsletter articles, brand guidelines, and more – for both B2B and B2C audiences in a wide array of industries, including energy, technology, finance, healthcare, education, travel, retail, and more. In addition to her creative skills, Morgan has technical expertise in HTML coding and utilizing content management systems (e.g. WordPress) and email platforms, such as MailChimp, ExactTarget, and Constant Contact. With a lifelong interest in language, it is not surprising that Morgan has a bachelor’s degree in German and Linguistics from Rice University, where she studied more than eight languages. In 2011, she received her master’s degree in Advertising from The University of Texas, where she was accepted into the elite Texas Creative Program for her copywriting skills. In her free time, Morgan enjoys writing personalized picture books for friends and family.

Shelley Harrison Carpenter - Copywriter

Shelley’s love of words began in first grade, composing poems for her dear teacher and mentor, Mrs. Blanchard. Her writing career began with several years as a county newspaper reporter, where she developed a love for interviewing all sorts of people. Besides feature writing, her news beats included city government, education, and nonprofits of every stripe. As a determined “adult student,” Shelley graduated summa cum laude from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro in 2010 where she also wrote profiles of outstanding adult students for a “Web Weekly” newsletter and edited a grant proposal for a campus office. After college, she wrote English instructional materials, website copy, product copy, and blogs before joining two construction and development ezines as a staff writer, happy to be conducting interviews for each assignment. Several years of intervening employment in corporate merchandising and HR deepened Shelley’s understanding of the workings of larger companies and the written content they require. She now loves being part of the writing teams at The Writers for Hire. When not at a keyboard, she can be seen jogging in her Southern neighborhood or found holed up with a biography, a vegetarian cookbook, or a vintage TV show.

Melanie Green - Copywriter

Melanie Green is a Tampa-based writer and editor, with a focus on digital marketing content. She has more than 15 years of experience writing professionally, including time spent as a full-time employee of McKinsey & Company, Nielsen, and The Business Observer. She loves to write blog posts, website pages, press releases, RFPs, and whitepapers for companies of all sizes in the United States. 

She earned her Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing with a concentration in screenwriting from National University in La Jolla, California, and her Bachelor of Arts in Writing from the University of Tampa in Tampa, Florida. 

Carol Kim - Copywriter

Carol Kim is a versatile freelance copywriter who specializes in content marketing, blog posts, website content, and email marketing for business clients. She especially enjoys diving into research and discovering what makes every company unique. Carol holds a bachelor’s degree from Pomona College and a Master’s in Public Affairs from the LBJ School at the University of Texas at Austin.

Carol is also a children’s book author, having written several fiction and nonfiction books for the educational market. She especially loves helping kids learn about the environment and social sciences. Her first nonfiction picture book from a trade publisher is due to be released in fall 2021. 

Martha Scott - Copywriter

Martha Scott’s technical writing career began on a contract at Houston’s Johnson Space Center. She edited papers for scientific journal publication, documents for departments across the site, and a book about a proposed crew escape vehicle. She produced a yearly booklet describing Shuttle contract cost-saving measures, the mission managers’ Flight Data Pack, and a 45-page booklet called Charting a Course to the Year 2000 and Beyond describing plans to develop additional space vehicles and prepare for manned Mars explorations. At Invesco, Martha edited and contributed to two company newsletters (online and hardcopy). She wrote software user manuals, Help files, Training and Benefits department documents, and, finally, shareholder reports. She returned to aerospace for the Shuttle Program’s last 5 years where she attended and produced detailed descriptions of presentations and subsequent discussions at the Orbiter Configuration Control Board’s weekly meetings. She also documented crew debriefings for 17 flights. Martha’s most recent experience was on Jacobs Engineering’s contract with a Texas City refinery for which she wrote and edited Engineering, Safety, Inspection, and Information Systems documents.

Suzanne Kearns - Copywriter

Suzanne knew she wanted to be a writer at the age of ten when she wrote her first story, and has spent the past 2 decades writing blog posts, magazine articles, nonfiction and fiction books, sales letters, white papers, press releases, website copy, and anything else that can be put in written form. She has written for Intuit, Avalara, NerdWallet, GoPayment, and as a ghostwriter for a few well-known CEO’s. Her work has appeared all around the internet, including on sites like World News and Reports, Entrepreneur.com, and Forbes. She loves nothing more than being presented with a bunch of data and asked to break it down into digestible content for readers. Most days you’ll find her sitting on her porch with her laptop, writing to the sound of the ocean, and marveling that life can be this stinking good.

Jennifer DeLay - Copywriter

Jennifer has a background in journalism and Russian area studies. She holds a BA from the University of Texas at Austin and an MSFS from Georgetown University. While in graduate school in the mid-1990s, she developed an interest in the oil and gas industry of the former Soviet Union and launched a free newsletter covering the subject. She then spent more than 20 years researching, analyzing and writing about related topics, working for multiple weekly publications and a private consulting firm. Her areas of professional interest also include energy and power in China, Iran and the Eastern Mediterranean, and for fun she researches linguistics, neuroscience and disability-related issues. She has experience in copy-editing and has frequently worked with both native and non-native English speakers, helping them to produce clear, easily understandable articles on complex political, economic, legal and technical topics. Additionally, she has managed many time-sensitive typesetting projects for community institutions. Jennifer enjoys writing personal essays and lives in Atlanta with her family.

Dana Robinson - Copywriter

Dana Robinson has been writing and editing professionally for 10 years, publishing her first article in 2007. She serves as Editor-in-Chief of a local online magazine and is a contributor to various Houston print publications. She honed her experience writing newsletters and managing social media for small businesses and non-profits before moving on to e-books, magazines, and non-fiction books for print. She also enjoys teaching creative writing workshops for children. Dana received her formal education at the University of Houston–Downtown, where she majored in professional writing, minored in creative writing, and was the recipient of the Upper Division Writing award for best essay. She completed internships with Writers In The Schools and The Bayou Review.

Brenda Hazzard - Copywriter

Brenda Hazzard has over 30 years’ experience working as a writer and editor in the private and public sectors. She spent over 20 years working for the US Government in Washington and abroad, and spent several years working with the CIA during which she managed a team of writers producing internal briefs on international news, events, and politics. She writes on a variety of topics but loves opportunities to work on projects that cater to her keen interest in international affairs. She considers herself to be an empathetic editor, one who improves a draft but lets the spirit of the writer shine through. She has also worked on dissertations, white papers, newspaper articles, and family histories.

Adelia Ritchie - Copywriter

Adelia is a scientist, educator, technical writer and editor, poet, and blogger about her Pura Vida lifestyle in Costa Rica. She has more than 40 years experience writing professionally, including her years at Science Applications International Corp., Bechtel Corporation, Defense Acquisition University, and the Department of Defense. She earned her Doctor of Philosophy in Physical Organic Chemistry at Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois, and her Bachelor of Science in Chemistry and Physics from the University of West Florida in Pensacola, Florida.

Carey Miller - Copywriter

Carey brings more than 20 years of writing and editing experience to The Writers for Hire. A lifelong writer and reader, she holds a B.A. in English from UCLA. Her background includes writing and editorial positions with both book and magazine publishers. She has worked as a copy editor and proofreader for major advertising agencies including Ogilvy & Mather and Rubin Postaer. Her experience includes magazine feature writing and editing as well as manuscript development and editing. A former advertising sales executive, she has crafted a wide range of business, sales, and marketing communication for leading magazine publishers including Conde Nast and Hearst. She has worked with major consumer brands including Nike, Visa, Levi’s, General Motors, Microsoft, Charles Schwab, and Neutrogena.

Coralee Bechteler - Copywriter

In the past, Coralee has been an organic farmer, a chicken herder, a zipline administrative assistant, and an ESL teacher for kids. Today, she's living her childhood dream of being a writer. She currently resides in New York with her cat (and muse) Hermes and a miles-long TBR list that gets longer every day. If she's not reading or crafting, you can usually find her pulled over on a country road writing something down or picking wildflowers. Coralee holds a bachelor's degree in English, an associate's degree in Horticulture, and multiple internationally recognized software testing certifications.

Cecile Brule - Copywriter

Cecile enjoys the challenge of discovering each client’s unique strengths and presenting them to a wider audience. Since joining The Writers For Hire, she has worked on blogs, newsletters, RFPs, end-user documentation, email, social media, sales pages, biographies, op-eds, and fiction.

Previously, she taught in Shenzhen, China and obtained an HSK3 (Intermediate Mandarin) certificate. Cecile enjoys gaming, drawing, producing short films, and growing fifteen different varieties of apples with Serenity Orchards.

Rosalind Stanley - Copywriter

Rosalind Stanley grew up on the Coast of Maine and then accidentally spent fifteen years in Virginia's Blue Ridge Mountains, before moving to the Midwest. She graduated from Lynchburg College in 2008 with a B.A. in Creative Writing (and a minor in Theater Performance); ever since, Rosalind has endeavored to make writing a part of her daily life, whether creative or technical, whether as a volunteer or an employee. She has tutored students, taught workshops, edited fiction and non-fiction books, and worked as a beta reader and a legal writer. She also publishes a newsletter on Substack, where she releases her own fiction serially. When not writing, Rosalind is busy homeschooling her four children and raiding the local library for new fiction.

Sean Patrick Hill - Copywriter

Sean has been a professional writer for more than 25 years, and has an M.A. in Writing from Portland State University and an M.F.A. in Poetry from Warren Wilson College. He's the author of five books, and his writing has won him grants and fellowships from the Kentucky Arts Council, the Vermont Studio Center, the Elizabeth George Foundation, and the Regional Arts and Culture Council. He lives in Louisville, Kentucky, where he also works at his photography.

Wintress Odom - Owner / Editor-in-chief

Wintress founded The Writers For Hire in 2003 after freelancing for several years as a copywriter and editor. She has overseen, edited, proofread, or written copy for over 100 clients and is happy to have maintained long-term relationships with many of her first customers. Wintress is an exceptional proofreader and editor and has a gift for organizing large projects, including large technical manuals and manuscripts. Her educational background includes graduating cum laude from Rice University in 2000, studying at Cologne Gymnasium in Germany, and graduating valedictorian from The Science Academy of South Texas in 1994.
Wintress